Eastern Region

The eastern region of Iceland is called "Austurland" and often also named as "The Eastfjords".

Similar to the Westfjords, the coastline is shaped by fjords with steep mountainsides, too.

The largest town with it's 2.500 citizens (Jan. 2019) is Egilsstaðir. It is directly connected by a mountain road to Seyðisfjörður, where the only ferry connection to the european mainland is established (via Färöer to Hirtshals/Denmark).

More than half of Europe's largest glacier Vatnajökull is on Austurland territory. The rest of it's area belongs to Norðurland eystra and Suðurland.

The total population number of the eastern region is approx. 12.900 (Jan. 2008).


After growing up in Húsey a young seal is released into wilderness

Herðubreið (1.682 m)


Snæfell (1.833 m)

Reindeer herd near Snæfell

Snæfellsskáli Hut

Cotton Grass


Breiðárlón / Vatnajökull


Hofskirkja (built in 1884)

Skaftafell / Vatnajökulsþjóðgarður


Hvannadalshnúkur (2.110 m)

Seyðisfjörður / MS Norröna is slowly approaching

Seyðisfjörður Car Ferry Terminal / MS Norröna - Smyril Line

Leaving Iceland / Population 364.134 (2020)

Passing the Faroe Islands on MS Norröna half way to Denmark

Färöer (Faroe Islands) / Population 48.497 (2018)

Tórshavn / Capital of the Faroe Islands / Population 13.083 (2017)

Flying past the southern parts of the Faroe Islands